Who We Are

JOURNEYS is a collaborative effort between the HOPE Center and PADS shelter sites focusing on intervention and prevention for those in need. The clinical staff at the HOPE Center provide a wide array of psychological services, including mental health counseling, vocational rehabilitation, and housing assistance, all geared to helping our constituents achieve independence. Along the way, 18 faith-based emergency shelter sites provide dinners and a safe, warm place to sleep from October through April.

The face of homelessness has changed. Financial instability now affects a wider segment of our population, extending into the middle class and even beyond. Our goal is to not only serve the needs of these people, but the community as a whole as our efforts provide services for free, and in turn, offset costs typically absorbed by hospitals, municipalities, and legal systems.

A Bit of History
From the desire to continue to complement emergency services with professional coordination of the therapeutic continuum of care, HOPE NOW, Inc. (created in 1992) and Northwest Suburban PADS, Inc. (created in 1989) decided to explore a merger. Merging these two agencies made perfect sense administratively and programmatically as both agencies served the same population— homeless and those at risk of becoming homeless. In 1998, HOPE NOW and Northwest Suburban PADS, Inc. made the decision to move their administrative offices and the Hope Center to a shared location. These two agencies operated in donated or rented space until 1999 when Northwest Suburban PADS  and HOPE NOW  received word that they had been awarded a large federal grant through Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to allow both agencies a permanent location at 1140 E. Northwest Highway in Palatine, Illinois. This location provided adequate space for the HOPE Center, and the grant provided an opportunity to rehabilitate the facility and expand the current services.

In October of 2001, HOPE NOW and Northwest Suburban PADS legally merged—forming the new agency known as JOURNEYS | The Road Home, a multi-funded, comprehensive service agency. The newly merged agency now houses three professionally run programs, the PADS program, the HOPE Center program and the Pathways Housing Readiness Program..
 

Mission Statement
The mission of JOURNEYS | The Road Home is to individually assess and serve the homeless and near homeless, while broadening community awareness and involvement with the homeless.

Vision Statement
JOURNEYS | The Road Home is the nationally recognized agency for leading its local communities in providing effective, comprehensive services to the homeless and near homeless.

Board of Directors

Officers
President | Burt Jensen | Retired FBI
Vice President | vacant seat |
Treasurer | Mark Johnston | Vice President, American Charter Bank
Secretary | Norene Rolenitus | Regulatory Compliance Manager, BDP International 

Directors
Father Corey Brost | President, St. Viator High School
Lorenzo De Leon | Director of Applied Engineering, Early Warning/Authentify, Inc
Fernando Egea | Abbott Laboratories
Katie Ford | President and Managing Director, Starcom MediaVest
Steve Griffin | Senior Vice President, Eugene L. Griffin & Associates
Kurt Knuth | Owner, Knuth Construction
Beth Nabors | Executive Director, JOURNEYS | The Road Home
Shari Rabin | Paralegal with Jeffrey A. Rabin & Associates, Ltd.
Alan Stoeckel | Chief of Police, Palatine Police Department

Staff Directory
Lorraine Cullerton | Case Manager x119 l.cullerton@padstohope.org
Bill Decker | Funding Officer x123 b.decker@padstohope.org
Michelle Dubil | Case Manager x125 m.dubil@padstohope.org
Taylor Jacob | Develolpment Associate x116 t.jacob@padstohope.org
Velma Jackson | Office Manager x110 v.jackson@padstohope.org
Shaina Makani | Database Specialist x122 s.makani@padstohope.org
Beth Nabors | Executive Director x112 b.nabors@padstohope.org
Suzanne Ploger | Development Director x120 s.ploger@padstohope.org
Amy Pratt | Shelter Manager x121 a.pratt@padstohope.org
Jon Rapp | HOPE Center Manager / Mental Health Counselor x124 j.rapp@padstohope.org
Al Schmelter | Bookkeeper x111 a.schmelter@padstohope.org
Todd Stull | Clinical Director x115 t.stull@padstohope.org
Cyndi Wollack | Vocational Case Manager x118 c.wollack@padstohope.org